ADHD Home > Diagnosing ADHD

ADHD Types

Based on these criteria, 3 types of ADHD are identified:
  • ADHD, Combined Type: if both the inattention and hyperactivity/impulsivity criteria are met for the past 6 months
  • ADHD, Predominantly Inattentive Type: if the inattention criteria are met but the hyperactivity/impulsivity criteria are not met for the past 6 months
  • ADHD, Predominantly Hyperactive-Impulsive Type: if the hyperactivity/impulsivity criteria are met but the inattention criteria are not met for the past 6 months.
For more information about making an ADHD diagnosis, see the eMedTV article ADHD Doctor.
Written by/reviewed by:
Last reviewed by: Arthur Schoenstadt, MD
Last updated/reviewed:
List of references (click here):
Other Articles in This eMedTV Presentation

Topics & Medications


Related Channels

eMedTV Links
Copyright © 2006-2018 Clinaero, Inc.

eMedTV serves only as an informational resource. This site does not dispense medical advice or advice of any kind. Site users seeking medical advice about their specific situation should consult with their own physician. Click Terms of Use for more information.

This site complies with the HONcode standard for trustworthy health information:
verify here.